What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Matthew

I grew up in a small town in Alberta Canada called Cardston. I love adventures, I play guitar. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am currently 18 years old. I grew up in a town called Cardston. I play guitar, I love hunting, and camping, and being outdoors. I am very crafty, have done lots of little woodworking projects, have made multiple paracord bullwhips. I am from a family of 7. my older brother passed away on October 18th, 2017. He had duchennes muscular dystrophy, so growing up there was a lot of things that we didn't get to do as often as other families have gotten to like, camping, or skiing, or hiking. There are however lots of other things that I have been able to take part in that lots of other families have not been able to do. We went to disney World a couple times because wish foundations reached out and asked what my brother wanted to do. But one of the biggest things i have learned from having a brother with disabilities is service, and love. My brother loved everybody, and everybody knew it too.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born into the lds church, my family was very active growing up, and still are today. We make an effort every week to go. I have a testimony of the gospel and it's truth, and of the prophets, and i have a testimony of the atonement because I know that because of the atonement of Jesus Christ, I have the opportunity to return to live with him, and to see my brother again when I pass on from this life to the next. The gospel is very important to me in my life, because it gives me hope for what happens later in life and what happens to me and my family after we die.

How I live my faith

I live my faith through service to my family, friends, and my ward. Whether it's getting siblings up in the morning, or helping friends or ward members move, or shovelling neighbours driveways or sidewalks. I am not the best at home teaching, I am in a trio with my father and brother, but it is something we could do better at.