What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Janie

I am a mother and grandmother and live in the United States. I worked as a legal secretary for nearly 40 years. I am a Mormon.

About Me

I am a wife and the mother of five children and 18 grandchildren. I enjoy playing the piano; sewing; needlework and I especially love to read. I also enjoy camping with my family and spending family outings and vacations with our children and grandchildren. I thoroughly enjoy spending time with my two sisters. I love the area in which we live and the beauty of the mountains around us. I am a retired legal secretary who worked part time in various law offices when my children were small and their father's work schedule allowed one or the other of us to always be home with them. When all of our children became school age, I worked for a solo practitioner for nearly 40 years. I loved my job but my greatest love is for my family and my greatest joy comes from them.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born to parents who were devout members of the Mormon church and was raised in the gospel. I gained my own testimony as a teenager and it has grown steadily throughout the years. I know that God lives and that he knows each of us individually and is aware of our needs. I also know that Jesus Christ is my Savior and that he atoned for the sins of all. I have never doubted that Joseph Smith actually saw God, the Father, and his Son, Jesus Christ, when he prayed for help to know what church to join. I know that he was able to translate the gold plates into the Book of Mormon through the assistance of our Father in Heaven. Each time I read the Book of Mormon, I gain a greater knowledge of its truthfulness.

How I live my faith

I am active in my church and have held various positions working with the women, the teenage young women and the children from ages 3 to 12, as well as serving as a pianist. I am presently teaching a group of 8 and 9 year old children which is a really super great experience. Each month I and my friend visit three other women in our area in their homes and check to see how they are doing and if we can assist them in any way. The opportunity to visit with other women is a choice blessing in my life and has afforded me the opportunity to make great friends. I also served in the PTA organization of our neighborhood school when our children were attending elementary school.