What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm DeeAnn Canfield

I grew up all over the United States. My Father was a Wildlife Refuge Manager. I raised 8 children and I am a Mormon.

About Me

I have enjoyed being the mother of 8 children: three boys and five girls. I love to read, sew, do genealogy and be with my grandchildren of which I have 25. I also have two great grandsons. I enjoy working outside in the yard and have done a lot of home canning. My husband especially enjoys the bottled peaches and pears. I have worked as a teaching aid in my children's elementary school for seven years and have been an administrative assistant for a behavioral health and substance abuse clinic for several years. I only worked outside the home after my children were all in school and am now retired and enjoying doing a bit of travel with my husband and enjoying being with my family. We have served a mission to Michigan as a senior couple and are looking forward to serving again starting in September. It will be an at home mission as I am still having follow up treatment for my cancer. I am cancer free but it is a two year maintenance program I have to go through to make sure I stay that way.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born a Mormon or in other words my parents were both members of the Mormon church when I was born. On my mothers side I am 4th generation Mormon and on my fathers side I am 3rd generation. I remember being baptized on my 8th birthday and how good it felt. I also remember that at an early age I realized that I would have to know for myself if the church was true. I have gained a testimony of the Savior and our Father in Heaven and the truthfulness of the gospel of Jesus Christ as restored in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints by reading the scriptures and living the commandments and prayer.

How I live my faith

I have been participating all my life in the wards I have lived in. I have worked a lot with the young women's programs; teaching classes as well as coaching sports and being a camp leader. I have worked with the children for many years as well as the "older ladies" teaching and serving on a stake basis. I have enjoyed my visiting teaching opportunities, the ladies I visited and my partners have taught me a lot. I was also able to teach seminary for several years in a remote area. I taught all the age groups as well as my youngest son for two of those years. This was a wonderful experience and I still keep in touch with my former students. I have coached community sports for girls teams in baseball and boys soccer and served as PTA President in our elementary school as well as other positions in PTA.