What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Holly

I grew up in Arizona, I go to school in Utah, and soon I will leave to serve the people in Zimbabwe. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I have three brothers, two parents, and one dog. I lived in a small city in the-middle-of-nowhere, Arizona until I graduated high school, and I currently study communications at a university in Utah. I will shortly leave for Zimababwe, where I will serve, teach, and live among the people there. I can't wait! My favorite childhood memories involve either family reunions or the great outdoors - usually both at once. I laugh harder than I should at things kids say. I have never enjoyed team sports - except for soccer - but always enjoyed art - except for ceramics. I'm an avid reader who believes that every occasion is better with ice cream and every drive is better with the windows rolled down, and I'm a Mormon.

Why I am a Mormon

My parents are churchgoers, so I was too. I never had the opportunity to make a single decision to join the church at once. Instead, I have spent my life choosing each day to continue going to church and living the way it teaches. I choose to be a Mormon because I believe in it. I have had moments where I could feel God's presence, and I have known He knows who I am. Those powerful experiences have been rare, but in between, I have watched the gospel improve my life. I have felt peace when I do what it teaches. I believe that this is the true church, I believe that the Book of Mormon is true, I believe that our prophet receives revelation from God, I believe that Jesus Christ atoned for me, I believe that He loves everyone, and I believe that I lived with our Father in Heaven and Him once and that if I do as I should, I will again, and I believe that even if I don't understand everything, I believe enough.

How I live my faith

Every other week or so, I plan, prepare, and teach a religious lesson to the fourteen and fifteen-year-olds in my local congregation. I also conduct the music during our women's meetings, although my conducting ability has plenty of room for improvement. Once a week, I work in the temple and assist the patrons doing service there. I try to contribute to my family history as well. Thanks to dedicated grandparents, much of my family pedigree has been filled out online, so I have been doing my part by finding and uploading pictures of my ancestors to familysearch.org.