What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Paul (PJ) Ritchey Jr

I was born in Ohio, I have been a paper boy, a soldier, and a laborer. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

Born in 1968, I have been paper delivery boy, lawn mower, snow shoveler, soldier, records clerk, grocery bagger, cutlery salesman, and currently work in a vinyl window factory. I have been to Canada, Mexico, Korea, and Japan. I was born to a Lutheran mother, and an excommunicated Catholic father (marrying outside of the Church was grounds for excommunication when they married). I lapsed from my Lutheran faith, while still in High School, mostly because I had questions for which the Church did not have satisfying answers. So throughout my 4 years of military service, and roughly 20 years after, I wandered from church to church, rarely staying with one congregation for more than a month or two, searching for people whose beliefs matched what my heart knew to be true. I have always struggled with my faith, and continue to do so today. But eventually, I discovered The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. My conversion took a little over five years of effort by numerous missionaries, and church members, but on July 26th, 2014, I was baptized. I continue to learn and grow in faith and as I do, I only become more convinced that this has been the single best decision I have ever made, in spite of my continuing struggles with faith, and redemption.

Why I am a Mormon

After years of searching for a church whose tenants match what my heart always felt to be true. I finally came to realize (after 5 years of missionary work) that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints matched what I already knew to be true in my heart.

How I live my faith

Since the very first time I visited our local meeting house, I have felt like a welcomed and included member of a greater family than I have ever know. I do my family research (and help others in my ward as a Family History Consultant), taking names to the Temple when I can. I also feed missionaries whenever possible, and participate in as many classes, firesides, and other ward activities as possible. I also help others, in my family, my neighborhood, and my community when ever I can.