What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Denton

I grew up in Newdale Idaho and am a 5th generation Mormon!

About Me

I currently live on a farm that was homesteaded by my great grandfather. I farmed for twenty years then worked as a detention deputy in a county jail. I retired from that and am currently a sales consultant at an automobile dealership. I've been married to my sweetheart for over 35 years and have two grown sons and 6 grandchildren. I love to go fishing with my sons and grandchildren and to go off roading with my lovely wife.

Why I am a Mormon

I first started to attend church because of our family being involved in the church. My family wasn't active but the community where I grew up understood the principle of helping one another and made an effort to invite us to church. I grew up attending church and went on a mission to teach the Gospel when I was 19. For several years I was not as active as I should have been but as my boys began to grow up I knew I had a responsibility to raise them in the church. Through prayer and study I have received revelation about the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon, the mission of Joseph Smith, and most importantly the healing power of the atonement of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ! I love the Lord and am so grateful for his atoning sacrifice and his teachings. He showed by example the way to treat others and that true righteousness is expressed in service to our fellowman. I love to read about his life and teachings in the Bible and the Book of Mormon and the way to eternal happiness by following the commandments and helping others. I know that I am happier when I strive to live my life as He would have me live.

How I live my faith

I love to teach the Gospel and work with others in directing teaching and helping to train teachers in the local congregations. I have taught children , youth, and adults. I have also worked as a clerk and helped in record keeping in a couple wards and our stake. My wife and I are active in family history and genealogical work.