What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Mela

I grew up in a rural part of Michigan. I have a degree in literature. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm a pretty simple person with simple aspirations. I finished undergraduate school and received a bachelor's degree in English literature with minors in creative writing and communications. All I've ever wanted to be is a wife and mother, career wise, but I love learning, and I especially love the scholarly atmosphere of the literary world. But as I said, I'm a simple person. I'm a homebody, so I've spent most of my life with my family. Recently I've stayed home to care for my ill mother and two autistic brothers along with my dad. Family life is all I've really known, but it's something I enjoy and desperately want for my own.

Why I am a Mormon

I've grown up in the church and am still stalwart as an adult. This is not for the sake of convenience. In fact, it is a most trying thing to divide one's own testimony from one's parents. As a young adult, I was very insecure about my testimony. I wondered if I was a Mormon just because I had always been one. But as I looked about me and saw the lives of others who grew up with different backgrounds, I began realizing that I found true comfort in my religion. Whenever I read the Book of Mormon or participated in church socials, I felt peace in my heart. I've prayed, fasted, read my scriptures, and opened my heart. I'm a Mormon today, as of now, because I believe it to be the most correct belief to possess. I believe a Restoration of Christ's church was necessary; Joseph Smith was a prophet of God; all ordinances have been restored through this church only. I've come to know this through diligence of study and personal revelation.

How I live my faith

Over the years I've had various callings. I was chorister for the adult women's Sunday school class when I went to college in Indiana. When I returned to continue school in Michigan, I was a Sunday school teacher and a teacher/counselor for the young women of my church. Just recently, I've also been as church chorister while released from my women's Sunday school position. I've helped set up branch social events and have participated in the Adopt-a-Highway program that the young men and women are a part of. Being a part of a small branch, I'm privy to a lot that goes on, and help with many of the events and gatherings that are put together.