What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Garth

I am a dairy and pig farmer from Oak City ,Utah. I drive trucks and heavy equipment. I am a Mormon.

About Me

I graduated from college in animal science. I have always liked and worked with animals. I was an self employed dairy farmer. We raised hay, grain, pigs, chickens, cattle and horses.I am the father of 9 children; 3 boys and 6 girls. The farm was a great place to be able to teach the value of hard work and self reliance. I learned to speak spanish while in Mexico and also spent time in South America, teaching farming to the natives and trying to improve their standard of living. My knowledge of spanish helped me to communication with the people.

Why I am a Mormon

I grew up in a family that was Mormon. During this time, I learned the true meaning and purpose of life. As I moved out on my own I wanted the same principles and value to continue in my life. I looked for a wife that had been taught the same principles of the gospel that I had and also loved the Lord. We then raised our 9 children in accordance with these principles. One of our core belief is that families are forever. We have recieved great joy by watching our children and grandkids learn to work through their problems using God as their guide. Life is not without problems. But by applying the principles that I have learned through living the gospel of Jesus Christ, I have learned to overcome the obstacles & challenges that have come my way. I know that Jesus is the Christ and that by following his example and by keeping the commandments, we can live with our Heavenly Father again.

How I live my faith

I have worked with the Boy Scout in our church for many years. During this time, we went on camping trips, learned survival skills and did service projects for the community. Some of these projects included building and repairing fences for the local church farm, branding cattle and planting and harvesting crops. In addition, I have supervised youth groups as we cleaned up of the cementary for Memorial Day and picked up trash along the streets of town. I coached basketball for the boys and softball for the girls.It was a wonderful experience to watch the local youth grow and develop new skills. Currently I participate in the home teaching program. My wife and I visit two families a month. In addition to building friendships, we teach them about God and help them in what ever way we can. In my church, I also work with the older men in my church planning activities, teaching lesson about God and administering to their needs.