What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Curtis

I'm a zoo keeper, a renovator, i love to bake and i'm a husband and father of 3 children. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I was born in Christchurch NZ and I have 8 brothers and sisters. I am married to my best friend who was born in Peru. We met at institute in Australia, where we now live with our 3 children. I am a zookeeper. I have been volunteering at zoos since I was 13 years old. I specialize in carnivores/ungulates and animal training, at the moment I work on all departments at the zoo. I love my job because every day it is different and being outdoors and working with animals allows me to enjoy God’s creations. My favourite hobby is baking, mainly because I love eating good food. My wife and I also buy and renovate properties, including our home. Our dream, as a couple is to serve many missions, to share the joy we have from living the gospel and to just help anyone and everyone we can.

Why I am a Mormon

My parents joined the church when i was young, i grew up in the church and i saw the blessings of the gospel in my life and in the life of my parents. This gave me enough motivation to serve a full time mission, because i knew it was a good lifestyle and i wanted to share it. However, it was only until i was on my mission and away from my family that i gained my own testimony of the gospel. I got to witness many miracles and see so many lives change for the better, including my own. I strive to live the gospel each day because it continues to help me be a better person, husband and father. It gives me the perspective and hope i need to enjoy this life.

How I live my faith

I am currently serving as High Priest Group Leader, which is a leader of a group of men in our ward. I am responsible for Family History, Temple attendance and self reliance and emergency preparedness of the members in our ward.