What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Kayla

I grew up in Kansas. I like to try new recipes from Pinterest. Chocolate runs in my blood. I love music. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm a third-year student at my university, and I'm majoring in Marketing. I live about 20 hours away from home and only get to see my family twice a year. While at college, I've picked up a love for dancing--country dancing, ballroom--anything with a partner. I live with five other girls, and we have too much fun. I enjoy hiking--even though it kills me--and am aspiring to be a gym junkie. I love random dance parties and singing in the shower. If you offer dark chocolate to me, I will never say no. And... I can imitate Miranda Sings really well.

Why I am a Mormon

As was said before, I grew up in this church. I always just went off the teachings of my parents and those around me. As I got older, I had to gain my own testimony and conversion to His gospel. My freshman year of college was probably the greatest moment for me. Moving so far from home and being on my own was challenging. I had to discipline and take care of myself. There were many times where I felt alone or scared. At these times, I turned to my Savior, Jesus Christ, and my Heavenly Father in earnest prayer. It was at these times I felt so much love and knew I was being taken care of. Since then, I've gone through tough decisions and sad moments. I always know where to turn in those times, and never regret it. Jesus Christ is my rock. I know He love me, and I know my Heavenly Father loves me as well. There is no doubt in my mind of the truthfulness of His teachings. I LOVE this gospel. I can't imagine it not in my life. It IS my life--my foundation in all I do.

How I live my faith

My church is my life. I grew up in the same church as I attend now. I've been able to serve in so many positions: leader over girls my age while in high school, teacher for seven-year-olds, chair of a music committee, and other assisting roles. I visit and teach two girls each month--pretty much an instant friend for them! I love getting to know them and hope that I can help them in their times of need.