What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Stephanie Cleveland

I grew up in Arizona on the Native American reservation and I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I love music and my favorite instrument is the guitar. I love cooking, baking, drawing, and sewing. I'm not a very competitive person so instead of basket ball, foot ball, or base ball I like to go walking or hiking instead.

Why I am a Mormon

It was hard for me to become an actual converted member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints because I grew up with an atheist father and a Mormon mother so I got two opinions. I was never really interested in the church. I didn't start recognizing the church until my parents divorced. About three months into the divorce my little sister wanted to be baptized so that's when the missionaries started to come over and teach her. One concerned missionary kept asking me if I have been reading my scriptures and encouraged me to read it. I didn't start reading the Book of Mormon until he had left. I was happy I understood but still I didn't quite grasp much from it, yeah maybe here and there I did. My testimony didn't actually grow until I started going to an early morning class called seminary where we studied and learned more from scriptures. My junior year we studied the New Testament and my senior year we studied the Book of Mormon. Boy! Those scriptures really helped me throughout school and especially during difficult times of dealing with my parents divorce. Through God's words I knew I was going to be okay and that someone is there for me through times of hardship and times of joy. I know my brother Jesus Christ did suffer for us and made a way for us to come back to our Heavenly Father ,that the Book of Mormon was written for our times and brings comfort to my soul.

How I live my faith

I'm mostly involved with the youth and I help teach the young men and women in Sunday school and I help with the primary and the nursery.