What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Tammy

I was born and raised in California, and dream of traveling the world someday. I am a Mormon.

About Me

Growing up in California has formed my love of sunny days and warm weather, and it wasn't until last year when I attended college in Virginia that I had my first real experience with snow. Although definitely a trying experience for me and my wardrobe, I was able to adjust to a colder climate and I am now even open to the possibility of giving skiing, my best friend's favorite sport, a try someday. I enjoy cooking and baking (especially desserts and anything with chocolate) even though all too often my attempts turn out disastrous and inedible. I enjoy nothing more than spending time with my family and friends, who truly are a collection of the most talented, hilarious, and downright amazing people on this earth.

Why I am a Mormon

I was taught the gospel of Jesus Christ at a young age from my loving parents who have been and continue to be stalwart examples throughout my life. The knowledge that I have gained from them and from being a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has shaped my life and has instilled in me a great faith in Christ and love for my Heavenly Father. Being a member of His church has also helped me understand the greater perspective and purpose to this life, and has provided me with the comfort of knowing that I truly am a child of God. Additionally, I have a firm testimony that we can reach out to our Heavenly Father through personal prayer, and this has been a huge blessing in my life, especially when I am faced with tough decisions. Ultimately, I am a Mormon because I love God, and I know that it is only through Him and obedience to His commandments that I can truly succeed.

How I live my faith

I live my faith by being honest and true, and striving to create an honorable lifestyle that reflects my beliefs and devotion to God. I consistently attend my Church meetings, where I currently teach and interact with the children between the ages of 18 months and 3 years. While attending school in Virginia, I was on a committee for planning and holding weekly activities for the members. I will also be serving a mission in Finland, where I will have the opportunity to devote my time to sharing the gospel and serving the Lord.