What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Lori

I grew up in Ontario, Canada. I recently returned to school at the age of 46 and earned my Bachelor of Social Work Degree.

About Me

I am the mother of three children and grandmother of six, soon to be eight. My husband's son is engaged to be married to a young woman with two children. The eldest is 12 and the youngest is 18 months. I love being a Gramma!! In In 2006, at the age of 46, I enrolled in university for the first time and completed my Bachelor of Social Work degree in 2009. I currently work full-time for a children's mental health agency as a Child and Family Therapist. In September 2015 I will be returning to school to complete my Masters Degree in Social Work. I love working with children and families. I enjoy cooking, jewellery making, scrap-booking and quilting. In 2013 I discovered kayaking and enjoy being on the water. Running has also become an interest. Last year I completed my first 5k run but do not run competitively. It is something I enjoy as quiet time for myself. And I am a Mormon.

Why I am a Mormon

I have been a member of the church pretty much since birth, having been taught by my mother and eventually adopting her beliefs as my own. Through difficult personal experiences as a youth I came to know the gospel was true. Later in life I forgot those truths and ended up in such painful circumstances that were only relieved by returning to the gospel. When I actively and intently sought the peace promised in the scriptures, I found it immediately and in great abundance. I know that my Father in Heaven is there, that Jesus Christ is His Son. I learned that the scripture "ask and ye shall find, knock and it shall be opened unto you" is true. The promises in the scriptures are sure. As I have brought my life in harmony with His gospel, I have found great peace.

How I live my faith

I currently serve as Secretary for the women's auxiliary of the church. This service includes assisting with the organization of various activities and events for the women as well as working in collaboration with the priesthood to organize ward activities and events. I also serve as a Visiting Teacher, working to uplift and serve certain women in the ward.