What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Matthew

I am a convert, I am an U.S. Army Officer and I am a Mormon.

About Me

I am a husband and father of two beautiful children (3 year old boy; 2 year old girl). I have been married for almost five years now. I am a convert to the church. I converted at the age of 18 and I am the only member in my family. I served a mission in the Denver Colorado South Mission. I am a graduate of BYU-Idaho and I am an Army Officer. I have been deployed to Kosovo and I am soon to be deployed to Afghanistan. I play video games and watch all sorts of movies. I love to be outside and to play sports too. My favorite thing in the world is to see my family smile.

Why I am a Mormon

My father was addicted to drugs, and he died when I was 14 because of the decisions he had made. He cleaned himself up and was trying to start his life over when he passed. I had only met him when I was 11, but I loved him so much. Being Catholic, I felt that what I was being taught meant that he would not go to heaven, he had not accepted Christ in his lifetime. He had not repented of his sins. I could not bear the thought of him suffering for eternity. Years after he passed I learned that he could still be redeemed, he could still have joy, and he could still feel his Father's love. I learned about the plan of Salvation: The expression of God's loving embrace and the embodiment of forgiveness. I am a Mormon because I believe. I feel God's love in this church and I know it to be true.

How I live my faith

I am social. I invite the missionaries into my home for food, or for lessons with investigators and inactive members. I go with the missionaries to talk to investigators and I invite them to church or into my home. I try to make my home a place where the spirit can reside and where others can feel the spirit. I like to take my son with me when I home teach others and allow him to share his testimony (he is 3). I love to help other people do house projects and to just sit and chat for a while about life events.