What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Ben E.

I grew up in Otis Orchards, Washington. I'm a husband, a father, and a Mormon.

About Me

I grew up in the outskirts of Spokane, Washington. I served a mission for my church in Sydney, Australia. I attended Brigham Young University and then moved to Southern California to attend law school, where I met my beautiful wife. Recently, we were blessed to have a daughter added to our family, who brings us so much joy. I enjoy spending time with my family and learning new things. I also enjoy hiking mountains. I play the tin whistle.

Why I am a Mormon

I grew up going to church. When I was young, I went to church because my family went. Then when I moved away from home when I was 18, I had to decide whether I wanted to go to church still. I decided to keep going to church. A year later, I served a mission for my church for two years in Australia. As I worked hard to invite others to learn more about God and the Gospel of Jesus Christ, my faith grew. I saw people's lives change as they learned they were children of God and He had a plan for them. Today, I choose to continue to be a member of this church. I have learned that the teachings of this church are very real. They are also relevant and practical; this is not abstract theology. I need this church and its teachings to guide my life as I am a husband and a father. I know through experience that striving to follow the principles taught by the leaders of this church brings confidence that things will work out. I have learned that God will lead me if I show Him I am willing to follow. The opposite is also true: when I seek to do things my own way, it just doesn't work. I have learned there is safety in following the teachings of this church.

How I live my faith

I work with other members of our church in the area to build and uplift members of our church. Recently, I taught the young men ages 16 to 17 in our local area on Sundays.