What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Mahalia

I love to sing, take pictures, and eat chocolate. I'm a great student, I'm half German, and I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am 17 years old and a junior in high school. I love to sing in choirs and act in school musicals. I'm on my school's tennis team and I love playing with my friends. I am part of lots of clubs and activities like National Honor Society and the math club. At school my favorite classes are calculus, chemistry, Spanish and photography. I started piano lessons two years ago and am not very good, but enjoy playing piano a lot. I love going to dances with my friends, taking lots of pictures, and eating ice cream. I was born in Washington D.C. and lived in Maryland for 14 years. I moved to Utah nearly three years ago. I've traveled to Germany five times and spent the last two summers there visiting my dad. I can speak some German and and some Spanish. I live with my mom, little brother, and grandparents.

Why I am a Mormon

I was fortunate to be born into this church. I believe that it is the true church of God on earth. I believe that President Monson is an inspired prophet of God. I believe that Joseph Smith restored the church to the earth under the direction of Jesus Christ. I believe that the Bible and the Book of Mormon contain precious truths. God loves all of His children and we can return to live with Him in heaven one day. Christ suffered for our sins and through the atonement we can take advantage of this and repent to be cleansed of our sins and become perfect like our Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. I am grateful that I have a strong testimony and that I can be comforted in knowing the truth. The church is an important part of my life and I know that it is true.

How I live my faith

I go to church every Sunday and enjoy listening to speakers and participating in my lessons. Each Wednesday I go to activities for the 12 to 18 year old girls. We have fun doing crafts, playing games, and doing service activities. I am the secretary for our group of girls, so I have the responsibility to check up on them to make sure they're well, and to help plan activities.