What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Jenny

I grew up in New England, am a mother of 6, and I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am 51 years old and a mother of 6. I have been married to the man of my dreams for 30 years this July. Life has thrown us many curves some of which have bee difficult to deal with. I have many hobbies but have come to realize that I can't do everything so the ones I really love to do are family History research, sewing, cooking, canning, gardening, writing books, working on home improvement projects, asmping, hiking, and spending time with my grandchildren.

Why I am a Mormon

My mother joined the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints when I was two years old. My Father never joined. In the Book of Mormon we read that we should read the Book Of Mormon and pray about it with a sincere desire and faith to know for ourselves if it is true. I have done this for myself and I have felt the Holy Ghost bear witness to me that The Book of Mormon is a true Word of God. Growing up with my mothers testimony was good for me as an example but I wanted to know for myself not just believe on what others said to me. I have always felt that Heavenly Father loved me and I was important to him because I was his Spirit daughter. I have had instances in my life where I have had a clear answer to my prayers and others where I have felt the promptings of the Holy Spirit directing me. I had read the Bible and knew that Heavenly Father sent Prophets to those he loved like the Isrealites to guide and direct them. It made sense to me that he would give us Prophets too because I knew he loved us. My membership in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is a way of life for me not just a religion. I believe that you must live your religion every day of your life. The decisions I have made have been based on my beliefs. For instance marrying my husband. I wanted my future children to have a father who took his marriage covenants seriously, who would be an example to them as to what a husband and father should be in the Lords eyes so they in turn could grow up and be the kind of Father or marry the kind of man that would in turn be an example to their kids. I didn't work outside the home until my youngest was in school because I believed it was my responsibility to teach my children the things that they should know so they wouldn't have to go to others to learn about morality, citiizenship, love, work etc. I am grateful for my membership in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and the blessings I have received.

How I live my faith

We lived 8 years in Ohio before recently moving here to Harpers Ferry. In Ohio I was the chair person for the local historical sociaties Heritage festival. I taught free family history classes for the community. I worked as a lunchlady at my local Highschool. Before that I lived in South Carolina where I was involved in the girl scout program and volunteered in the school system. Before that I lived in South Dakota where I was President of the Parent Teacher Organization and President of the local Jaycees.