What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Marj Batson

I grew up in the small farming community of Downey, Id. I'm a Mom, a grandma & a great grandma. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm Marj. I love to knit, crochet and sew. Purple, teal and fushia are my colors. I've been cooking for 57 years. My husband would rather eat my cooking than any restaurant. I've raised 8 children, and now have 23 grandchildren and 1 great grand. I love to read. Who done its and westerns are my favorites. I enjoy playing the piano and have a pretty good singing voice. Christmas is my favorite holiday. My favorite vacation was spent in England and Scotland. Even though I'm a good cook, I love to eat out. Italian and Chinese always hit the spot. My favorite memories are sharing time with family and friends. I also really enjoy going to church and associating with the people there. My husband of 45 + years is my best friend and I hope we stay best friends forever.

Why I am a Mormon

I'm a Mormon because I was born to parents who were Mormons. I love the Gospel of Jesus Christ. It's the only true thing on this earth. I've always felt it was true. When I was just a young girl I attended evening meetings where young men who had just recently returned from being missionaries in some foreign place gave talks and I could feel the Holy Ghost whispering of the truth they spoke. God lives and guides us every day. He answers prayers, we just need to be still and listen. Jesus Christ is my redeemer and your redeemer. He paid for our transgressions. It is mind boggling to think of His pain and suffering caused by me and by you. He died for us and overcame death. He was resurrected for us, so we can live again. I pray I can live so I will someday be in his presence again.

How I live my faith

I lead the singing at church in the women's meetings and sometimes play the piano for the children's meeting. I'm currently helping at our church's food bank type store. We help people with their food needs two days a week. I'm also involved with visiting 4 women of our congregation frequently. Over the years, I have worked with Cub Scouts, Young Women Ages 12-18, been a cook at girls camp 3 summers. I've taught children 3-12, been in many leadership positions. I've also taught adult Sunday School classes.