What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Megan Butterfield

I grew up in Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Chile, Peru, Russia and Utah. I'm a missionary and I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I've spent the past few semesters as a college student majoring in Recreation Management with an emphasis in Therapeutic Recreation. I was raised as a Third Culture Kid (TCK), moving around the world with my family. Throughout my childhood and teenage years I lived in Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Chile, Peru, Russia and the United States. I am completely bilingual in English and Spanish, can speak a little Russian and am currently learning Hungarian. I love socializing, watching movies and just having fun with friends. Throughout middle and high school I played on volleyball, basketball and softball teams and loved it! I just love being involved with a variety of clubs, teams, and friends!

Why I am a Mormon

I was actually born and raised a member of the church. There are many times throughout my life, especially now that I live on my own, when I could have chosen to leave the church or not live the principles that I have learned. However, I know that this church is true and everything that I have learned makes so much sense. It's all a part of a greater plan and I am determined to stay on the right path and follow everything I have been taught. I can think of nothing better that I personally can be doing with my life than showing others this happiness and truth that I have found. God, His son, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost have gotten me through countless rough times and trials in my life and I have no idea where I would be without them. I want to show others what I have found and help them understand why they are here and what a great help and support system they have waiting for them in Heaven.

How I live my faith

As a member of the youth, I used to serve in a position of leadership, helping to plan and direct activities and keep all of the girls involved. I also helped to plan and carry out youth camping trips while I was living in Lima, Peru. Now that I have grown out of the youth program and moved on to college wards with young, single adults, I've been able to help in different ways. Every month, one of my roommates and I were assigned to visit teach a couple of girls. This means that we would call or text them and visit them at their apartment to teach them a lesson and make sure that they were doing okay. For a few months, I was the Visiting Teaching Coordinator, which means I made sure that all of the women's visiting teaching was organized and getting done. A few months later, I served as the Chair of the "Extra Meetings Committee." I had a few members on my committee that I worked with to plan meetings on occasional weekdays for the women in my ward. At the moment, I'm serving a full-time mission in the Hungary Budapest mission and devote all of my time to this calling.