What Is a Church Community?

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm jesse pitman

I grew up in Illinois. I have moved 6 times and now live in Arizona. I have 5 siblings love to draw and i'm a Mormon.

About Me

i live in a family of eight, i love drawing and read often.

Why I am a Mormon

i was born into a Mormon family and have lived it all my life.

How I live my faith

my calling in the church until 14 was being the deacons quorum president. that means i was the meeting leader of the 11 to 13 year old young men.

Who chooses the Mormon prophet?

jesse pitman
Jesus Christ is the Head of this Church. The calling and appointment of the Living Prophet is directed by Him whose Church it is. After the death of the Prophet Joseph Smith in Carthage Illinois, Brigham Young led the Church to the Salt Lake Valley and guided its growth and expansion throughout the West. After his death, the senior Apostle, John Taylor, became the third President of the Church. After each Church President passes away, the senior Apostle becomes the next President. Since Brigham Young, the Church has been led by: John Taylor—1877–87 Wilford Woodruff—1887–98 Lorenzo Snow—1898–1901 Joseph F. Smith—1901–18 Heber J. Grant—1918–45 George Albert Smith—1945–51 David O. McKay—1951–70 Joseph Fielding Smith—1970–72 Harold B. Lee—1972–73 Spencer W. Kimball—1973–85 Ezra Taft Benson—1985–94 Howard W. Hunter—1994–95 Gordon B. Hinckley—1995–2008 Thomas S. Monson—2008–present Each President of the Church selects counselors from worthy and capable men. Together, these men form the First Presidency of the Church. Along with the Twelve Apostles, they give direction to the Church. Show more Show less