What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Chris

I grew up near Kansas City. I like science fiction and will soon have a PhD in statistics. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am a PhD student in statistics. My dissertation focuses on probabilistic models of protein evolution. In general I enjoy the challenge in statistics of informing decisions through data and quantifying the amount of certainty that data provides. I like old science fiction stories from the '40's and '50's. There was some amazing creativity during this time - I love seeing the ideas that authors had.

Why I am a Mormon

I am a Mormon through a combination of a few pivotal moments and a lifetime of self-observation. By 'a lifetime of self-observation' I mean that I have noticed that I am happier when I am following the guidelines of the church. There is an underlying peace that comes with the gospel no matter what else is happening in our lives, and it's easy to see when I've had that and when I have not. The 'pivotal moments' go beyond a simple feeling of happiness, peace, or the satisfaction that comes from doing what you think you should do. They are much more difficult to describe, but the experience common to each that I have had is a complete certainty of God's love for me. Some of these for me have been at times of major decisions in my life, while others have occurred during a simple nightly prayer.

How I live my faith

I love the emphasis that the church places on family, and I try to live my faith primarily in the way I treat my wife and my son. The research I am doing for my dissertation only requires a computer and internet access, which means I could/should be working anywhere at any time. It makes the balance between work and family more difficult to manage, but I make a priority to have quality time with my son every day before he goes to bed, and be able to spend some child-free time with my wife.