What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Garth

I am married and live in the San Diego area. We have 2 adopted children. I am a golf club designer and I am a Mormon.

About Me

I am a sports enthusiast. My hobbies are cycling, running, golf, basketball, swimming, and softball. I also have a passion for music, piano performance and song writing in particular. My wife and I were not able to have our own children so we have adopted one daughter, age 21 and are in process of adopting a 16 year old daughter who has been with our family for the past 5 years as a foster child.

Why I am a Mormon

I was raised in a home of 7 children with a less active father (he has since become active in his 70's). My testimony was instilled in me by the faith and good works of my very faithful mother. I have had a testimony since early childhood. I remember a very spiritual experience when I was only 6 years old that taught me that God is very much aware of my life. I have since recieved a witness over and over again of the truthfulness of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. I know that Joseph Smith is a prophet of God. I know that the Book of Mormon is a second witness, the first being the Bible, to the divinity of the Lord Jesus Christ. I also know that we have a modern day prophet in Thomas S. Monson.

How I live my faith

I have been involved with the youth for many years, having just been released as an early morning seminary teacher. I served for a total of 9 years teaching seminary in two different states (Alabama and California). I have been a Young Men's president and also a Ward Mission Leader. I am now serving as a counselor in my local ward bishopric. I am also the choir pianist and assist as an accompaniast for stake and ward functions. I am a hometeacher. But the calling that I find to be of the most importance is that of husband and father. When I was 19 years old, I served a full time two year mission to the Navajo Indians in Arizona and New Mexico.