What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Marta Teeples

I am a sister, a daughter, a wife, a mother of one, a grandmother of two,and a department manager, and I am a Mormon.

About Me

I was born and raised in Pocatello, Idaho, as were my parents. My favorite thing to do is visit with my family, I have two brothers and two sisters and many nieces and nephews. My parents are still living and I see them almost every day. I love to play with my grandsons, bake, work, read, visit with friends and if there were more hours in the day, I would love to craft. My husband is also native Pocatellan and we grew up in the same neighborhood. We have been married for 35 years and are looking forward to eternity together. Our daughter is our pride and joy, and she and her family live about 3 blocks away, so we have lots of fun with her and her husband and sons. I have worked in the same job for 27 years and still love it, my customers have become my friends and I feel very lucky to have a job that I love. One of my favorite things to do is to watch cooking shows, and home improvement shows. My husband almost cancelled a fishing trip he had planned when I asked him if a particular wall was load bearing! So I guess teasing my husband is also a fun thing to do.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born into the church, most of my family have been members since the days of the pioneers coming to Utah, but that is not why I am a Mormon. I am a Mormon because I have read the Book of Mormon and prayed to know if it was true. I love the gospel of Jesus Christ and appreciate all the people around me who try to live as He did, whether they are Mormons or not. I choose to be a practicing member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints because I know that it is His church. I love that our church is organized the same way He organized it when He was here on the earth. I have received many blessings throughout my life, and love to see the miracles that happen in the lives of those around me.

How I live my faith

I work in the women's organization in the Church of Jesus Christs of Latter-Day Saints, most of my adult life, I have worked with the Young Women ages 12-18 and also the Primary ages 18 months to 12 years. If I had to pick a favorite calling in the church, it would be in the nursery with the 18 month to 3 year old children. It is not babysitting, but teaching children about the world around them and help them learn how to go to class and how to act at church. The amazement of small children and getting to know them so young is quite a wonderful blessing. I have made some of my best friends through working in the church and visiting new people who move into my area. Serving my friends and neighbors is my way of showing my Heavenly Father and my Savior Jesus Christ how much I love them.