What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Jennie

I am a mother of two, soon to be three children living in Beaverton, Oregon. I love baking and reading. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I feel blessed to be able to stay at home with my two children every day. It is a decision I made that I feel very strongly about, and I wouldn't have it any other way. I enjoy reading all kinds of genres, specifically science fiction, fantasy, and many types of young adult literature. I have a bachelor's degree in Music Education, and I love singing with and directing choirs. I have developed a passion for baking. I especially love making cookies, and I've spent many years perfecting my chocolate chip. My husband and I moved to Oregon with our three month old son after we graduated from college. We didn't have any family here, so it was quite an adventure. We have loved the Pacific Northwest (from the beautiful coast, to the delicious berries, to all the wonderful green trees), and we plan on calling Oregon home for the foreseeable future.

Why I am a Mormon

I am a Mormon because I truly believe in the doctrine. I believe that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the true church of God on the earth today. I believe that our Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph Smith as a young boy and eventually restored the gospel through him. I believe God leads and guides the church through his prophet, President Thomas S. Monson. I have a strong and deep faith in these principles and it has helped me and continues to help me throughout my life as I work through personal challenges and trials. The gospel bring me happiness that is deeper and stronger than the happiness I find anywhere else.

How I live my faith

I live my faith by striving to be a better version of myself every day. I am very aware of the things I say or share online. I try to show love to all of those around me regardless of their background. I try to raise my children with patience and love. I serve in my congregation with the women of the church age 18 and older (the organization known as the Relief Society). As part of that service I sometimes teach lessons on Sunday, I organize music for our weekly meetings, I make sure that our teachers are trained and have the things they need to teach each Sunday, and I help plan activities and meetings outside of Sunday. I organize a playgroup of mothers with small children that meets weekly. We talk about gospel principles and parenting issues and also provide opportunities for our children to play together. I also visit a few women roughly once a month and strive to serve them and be a good friend to them as part of a system of watch care we call visiting teaching.