What Is a Church Community?

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Susie Leggieri

I'm a Mormon. I live in Pennsylvania. I am the mother of 5 boys.

About Me

I went to BYU for a few years out of high school, then had the opportunity to serve a mission for our church in Taiwan. I married at 28, and was able to be a homemaker for my husband and 5 sons. Through the years my husband and I have dealt with learning disabilities, autism spectrum disorder, emergency surgeries, and a son who has recovered from cancer. I love crafts, working with people, and doing genealogy.

Why I am a Mormon

I grew up in the church, and because of tender experiences I was blessed with as a child and youth, learned that God lives and that his truth revealed through the prophet Joseph Smith is true! We lived most of my growing up years in areas where there were not many members of the church. I was exposed to other faiths, sometimes was even teased or mildly persecuted for being "Mormon". At 19, when on my own, I began to feel of little worth and to doubt even the existence of God. It was through prayer and study of The Book of Mormon, Another Testament of Jesus Christ that I was blessed to have an experience that led me to see that Jesus Christ is my Savior, He knows me by name, and He loves me. Although in my life there have been many ups and downs, that one experience has helped me to endure and continue to recognize the many blessings that I've been given. Since that time, nearly 40 years ago, my appreciation of the Gospel as is written in the Bible, Book of Mormon, other scriptures that we have and words of the living prophets had grown and my testimony strengthened! I'm happy to be a Mormon!

How I live my faith

I have enjoyed the opportunities to serve in my community and church by teaching the children and youth and adults at different times, directing the church choir, and singing in the choir. One of my favorite things to do is to go once a month to visit several different women in my congregation. I have loved the opportunity to get to know these different women and learn from them and their experiences. I'm currently blessed to visit several older women who I love dearly. Another favorite thing that I've done is genealogical research. I participate in Family Search Indexing to help make records available to all people free of charge who wish to search their ancestry.