What Is a Church Community?

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Robert Lapuaho

We are happy parents of 11 children. We are both of Tongan and Samoan decent. We are Mormons.

About Me

We are proud parents of 11 children. Were both return missionarys for the LDS church. Our hobbies is our children and all their activities.

Why I am a Mormon

We believe in the fullness of the gospel of Jesus Christ. We believe that life here on earth is part of an elaborate plan of salvation. We believe in eternal life and all its glories. We believe in families being together forever.

How I live my faith

We want to be as Christ Like as my savior Jesus and walk in his footsteps as closely as I can.

What is the priesthood?

Robert Lapuaho
It is the authority to act in the name of God to bless your family and others, as well as serving in the church. Show more Show less

What is faith?

Robert Lapuaho
To have faith is to “hope for things which are not seen, which are true” (see Book of Mormon, Alma 32:21 and Hebrews 11:1). Each day you act upon things you hope for, even before you see the end result. This is similar to faith. Faith in God is more than a theoretical belief in Him. To have faith in God is to trust Him, to have confidence in Him, and to be willing to act on your belief in Him. It is a principle of action and power. The Book of Mormon prophet Alma compared faith to a seed. If you plant a seed and nourish it, if it is a good seed it will grow and eventually bear fruit (Alma 32:28-43). It is the same with faith. If you are obedient to God’s commandments, study His word, and have a desire to believe in Christ, faith will grow inside of you. Show more Show less

Who chooses the Mormon prophet?

Robert Lapuaho
Jesus Christ is the Head of this Church. The calling and appointment of the Living Prophet is directed by Him whose Church it is. After the death of the Prophet Joseph Smith in Carthage Illinois, Brigham Young led the Church to the Salt Lake Valley and guided its growth and expansion throughout the West. After his death, the senior Apostle, John Taylor, became the third President of the Church. After each Church President passes away, the senior Apostle becomes the next President. Since Brigham Young, the Church has been led by: ■John Taylor—1877–87 ■Wilford Woodruff—1887–98 ■Lorenzo Snow—1898–1901 ■Joseph F. Smith—1901–18 ■Heber J. Grant—1918–45 ■George Albert Smith—1945–51 ■David O. McKay—1951–70 ■Joseph Fielding Smith—1970–72 ■Harold B. Lee—1972–73 ■Spencer W. Kimball—1973–85 ■Ezra Taft Benson—1985–94 ■Howard W. Hunter—1994–95 ■Gordon B. Hinckley—1995–2008 ■Thomas S. Monson—2008–present Each President of the Church selects counselors from worthy and capable men. Together, these men form the First Presidency of the Church. Along with the Twelve Apostles, they give direction to the Church. Show more Show less