What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Chris

I work at a software company, am married to a wonderful woman, have two (usually) wonderful children, and a dog. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I have a Commerce degree from the University of Alberta and have been working at a software company in Edmonton since I graduated. I have a teenage son and a daughter that thinks she's a teenager, even though it's still a few years away. We got a dog just over a year ago, and she has been a fun addition to our family. I've been married to my wife for 15 wonderful years! I enjoy watching and playing ice hockey and spending time outdoors with my family at our cabin.

Why I am a Mormon

My mom grew up in the LDS church, but stopped going shortly after she got married after spending a year living in the Arctic and not having the opportunity to go to church. When I was around 9 years old, after visiting our grandparents, my little sister asked why we only went to church when we visited them. This caused my mom to reflect and re-evaluate where she was at in her life. She made some changes in her lifestyle and has been active in the church ever since. One Sunday I asked one of my friends how come my name had brackets around it on the attendance roll and he told me that it was because I wasn't a member of the church. I met with the missionaries and prayed to know if their message was true and the rest is history. I was baptized when I was 10 years old and have enjoyed being a Mormon ever since.

How I live my faith

I work with the young men and young women of our church. I enjoy going camping and participating in various activities with them, especially when I see them really understanding and living the principles of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. It is especially rewarding to see them mature and grow up and start families of their own. I enjoy serving the youth any way that I can.