What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Viki Kaestner

I was born in Indianapolis but my father moved our family to Louisville, Kentucky when I was almost 5.

About Me

I am married to my second husband for 40 years now. My first marriage lasted 3 1/2 years and I had one son who is now 45 and a lawyer. I am a school bus driver for the Oldham County school system. I will be beginining my 15th year next week (8/15/12). I am a mother of 6 children and a grandmother of 19 (so far). I love to study the scriptures and listen to discussions by the BYU professors on the scriptures. I love to read, crochet, watch football - especially college football. I like to go to baseball games with our friends. My husband owns his own business and works from home. One of our sons runs another of our businesses out of our home. I have one son who is a divorced father of two sons and is inactive in the church. He is a good man and a wonderful father. We have had an interesting life with a large family. We have 5 sons and 1 daughter. Five of our 19 grandchildren are special needs children which puts a heavy burden on their parents. They are coping well. We have one Down Syndrome who is 5; 4 autistic who are 5, 4 & 3. Two of our sons live away from us in different parts of the U.S. and they each have 1 daughter. We are missing them. We try to gather together once a month at least and enjoy each other.

Why I am a Mormon

I am a Mormon because when my sister joined the church she invited me to come to the women's organization with her. I enjoyed being with the ladies very much. They had different lessons on homemaking, studying different regions of the world, scripture study and crafts. I found myself being more interested in finding out about the church and began taking the lessons from the missionaries. I was married to my first husband and he gave permission for me to join the church. Our son was two and he and I attended weekly. My husband soon became resentful of my time away from home and doing church activities and he left my son and I without a place to live and no job. I quickly found a job and unfortunately became inactive in the church. After the divorce was final I met my soon-to-be husband and we were married the next year. About a year after our marriage I was expecting our first son and the minister of the area we lived in found me and invited me back to church. When I walked in the door for the first time in two years I felt like I had come home. I have seldom misssed a Sunday since that day. My church family is very important to me and the friendships we've made have lasted a long time.

How I live my faith

I attend church weekly and participate in extra events that come up. My husband and I are currently serving on a committee for our first (hopefully annual) genealogical research conference. He designed the website and I am in charge of registration. We are looking forward to it. We have a circle of friends that meet once a month and we call ourselves "Empty Nesters" since all our children have flown the nest. We do a lot of different activities together like swimming, ball games, etc. I also have a group of ladies who meet together once a month to eat lunch together. We love to try out new restaurants and we catch up on each other's families. In the past I have been a den mother in Cub Scouts (15 years); a district day camp director (5 years); involved in scouting and volunteering in our local schools. We have lived in Oldham County, KY for 35 years and are much involved in our community. I am enjoying driving a school bus and amazed that I have driven for 14 years now. I enjoy being a part of the young people's lives and sharing their interests. I drive ages 5 - 18 and have all sorts of different kids - Russian, Brazilian, Danish, Chinese, Japanese.