What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Jennifer

I'm a mother and a full time student. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm a single mother with 3 kids. I attend college full-time and I plan on having my first degree in Spring 2012. I like music and movies. I used to scrapbook and cook/bake a lot and I hope that I will have time again when I finish school. We lived in Mexico for a while. I think I'm more detailed than I've stated, but I don't want to bore anyone. :)

Why I am a Mormon

I was raised in the LDS church. I became less active when I left my parent's house. When I got married, my husband wasn't a member and I didn't attend regularly, though I still believed most of what I remembered being taught. I don't have a grand conversion story. I didn't experience a miracle that suddenly brought me around. Like everyone, I've had hard times. When I look back, even a short amount of time, I can see the little miracles that helped me through whatever I was going through. I started attending regularly about 4 or 5 years ago because I started to get Sundays off from work and I did want my kids tought the gospel I was taught. The more I go and the more involved I get, the more I feel the truth. I don't know how to say what I feel without sounding corny, but here goes: I do believe that the Prophet is true. I believe that he is inspired in how to lead us. I know that our Heavenly Father loves us and he wants us to return to him. I know I've made mistakes, but I also know that I can repent of them and I can be forgiven. I know that I will be with my family in heaven. I look forward to re-joining family members who are already there.

How I live my faith

I am the 2nd Counselor in the Primary. (Primary is the Sunday School for children ages 3-12.) We prepare weekly lessons and we also organize activities for the children. I get to Visit Teach other women in our Ward. This is when we are paired up and "assigned" a few women to visit with each month. It allows us to keep up with what is going on with others and it helps us to see if someone has a need that they aren't voicing. It also helps us to get to know and get close to people even though we have busy lives. There are 5 women that my companion and I visit each month. There is another couple of women who come visit me each month. I want to particpate in my community. My major in school is Human Services. I will go on to Social Work when I've completed my current courses. I enjoy volunteering. I've done a little bit of volunteering. I hope that I will find a job that helps me help the community when I'm done with school. I helped organize a clothing exchange for back to school clothes in our church. The past few years have just been our Ward. Next year, I want to invite other Wards in our area to participate. A year or two later, I hope it will involve more of the community.