What Is a Church Community?

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Diane Ball

I grew up in Southern Alberta, Canada. I work as an office manager for a dental office. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm a mom first to two of my own childern and four step childern. I love the outdoors I can't think of a better place than in the mountains. My husband I have climbed both Mount Rainier and Mount Adams together, and look forward to more beautiful summits in our future. In spite of many challenges with a blended family, I love the family I have been given. As an office manager of a busy dental office sometimes it is difficult to find the time for the things we love, but we take advantage of every free day and spend time together as a family. Our favorite things to do are backpacking, fishing and skiing. We have four wonderful grandchildren and one on the way and one son serving a mission for the church. I come from a wonderful heritage. My mother was born and raised in Switzerland and my father is from Alberta, Canada. I grew up looking at the beautiful Rocky Mountains each day and now live in Idaho.

Why I am a Mormon

I have been a member of the church my whole life and have many ancestors on my father's side which were pioneers. My grandmother on my mothers side was a convert to the church and many years later brought her family to Canada to be close to the church. Although this is the reason I am a mormon, this is not the reason that I continue to live as an active member. Because of the many challenges that my family has faced over the years I cannot imagine how we would have made it through without the teachings of the gospel in our home. I have a strong testimony of the truthfulness of the gospel. I have come to know for myself who my Savior is, and although I may not ever fully understand how much my Savior loves me, because of The Book of Mormon, I know that he does, and that he loves all people regardless of race, social status, gender or location. I know that I came from a loving Heavenly Father and that someday I will return to him.

How I live my faith

I have had the priveledge of working with many of the youth in the church. I have helped them plan and carry out many community service projects. I am currently teaching young girls ages 8-11. We plan activities which will help this girls gain self-worth and valuable home skills. I visit women in our ward each month, hoping to help and assist them with their challenges and in the process forming friendships which have been very valuable to me. My husband and I live the gospel in our home by setting aside Monday nights for family activities and teaching. Our family has grown closer through these activities.