What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Sheryl

I grew up in Calgary, Canada but currently live in Issaquah WA. I am married with 6 children and 10 grandchildren. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm married with 4 biological children and 2 step children. I have 10 grandchildren...4 biological and 6 adopted. I love being a grandmother. My oldest daughter is 34 and is blind and mentally disabled. I'm her full time personal caregiver which keeps me at home much of the time. I love, love, love little children and have taught them in church for many years. I enjoy exercising, reading and spending time with friends.

Why I am a Mormon

My family are converts to the church. It was my mother who first invited the missionaries into our home. My dad was never very supportive of her decision to listen to the missionaries and so we often would have to go to the missionaries apartment to hear the discussions. When my mom heard what the missionaries had to share about the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the truthfulness of what they were saying burned deep into her heart so she and her children were all baptized. It really was the testimony of my mom that helped me to gain a testimony of my own. Watching her unfailing dedication to the teaching of Jesus Christ was a tremendous influence in my life and the good decisions that I made. She is my hero and I'm so grateful for her courage to accept the gospel and share it with me, even though my dad made it hard for her. I have a strong testimony of the atonement of my Savior Jesus Christ. It's power has healed my broken heart many times. I know that my Heavenly Father and my Savior hear and answer my prayers. I know They love me. I love being a member of The Church Of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I love being a Mormon!

How I live my faith

I currently teach the 4 year old's in church on Sundays. There are 6 children in my class and they are so smart. In the recent past I organized activities twice a month for the 10 and 11 year old girls. For 4 years before that, I taught Singing Time for all the children at church. I love working with the little children and it is nice to be able to serve in several different ways. I live in a great neighborhood with wonderful people. Every year my husband and I host a 4th of July breakfast in our driveway where all the neighbors come and participate. I love my neighbors! We all have different beliefs. Some are Jewish, Buddhist, Catholic to name just a few, and yet our friendships all mesh perfectly. Because I'm required to be home most of the time caring for my daughter, I have started working on researching my family history. I have really enjoyed finding out more about who my ancestors are and reading stories about their life.