What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Julia

I was born in Australia from Russian parents, and grew up in Newcastle N.S.W. I am a mother and a grandmother, and I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I have had a very successful career in Sales and Marketing for many years, and am recently retired. My hobbies are playing the piano, sewing, crafts and gardening - especially vegetables and herbs. I am also looking forward to doing volunteer work in the community during my retirement. My children are all grown now - they are aged from 27 to 41 years old. I especially enjoy time with my grandchildren and extended family. Being from an eastern European background, we are all very close, and family gatherings are usually very large, happy events.

Why I am a Mormon

When I was 14 years old, a friend from school told me about the church and invited me to attend a church meeting where young women met together and learned about preparing for family life, marriage and homemaking, and generally coping in the world at that time. I was very intriqued, and after meeting with the missionaries, I was baptised just a few months later. I was the only member baptised in my family, and my parents were unsure, but could see my commitment. Several years later, my younger sisters also were baptised. Since that time -46 years ago - I feel that I have gone from strength to strength, and although my family do not all attend church, they are strong in their love for each other. Although there have also been trials throughout our lives, I know that the Lord has been there to help and guide us through these adversities. I have a special love for the music and hymns of the church, and love to play the organ, sing in the choirs and listen to the Mormon Tabernacel Choir. Truly - the songs of the righteous are a prayer unto our Heavenly Father.

How I live my faith

I love to serve in the church. Over the years, my service has been mainly teaching - little ones (age 3 to 12 years) and in the seminary program - morning classed for the youth before they go to school, and also classed for the women of the church. I have also been playing the organ for the church meetings and choir renditions for many years. I am currently serving in the church temple, and am looking forward to going on a church mission for 18 months.