What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Katie

I grew up in foster homes. I came in contact with the Mormon Church in my third foster home. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am a widow of 2 years. I am a grandmother and a working mom. I love to read mysteries, especially, Agatha Christie, and Diane Mott Davidson. I am a huge Celtic Thunder fan. My favorite place to visit is the mountains. I was an Acting major in College, but never finished my degree. I performed in 2 community Children Theatre productions, one as Little Red Riding Hood's mother, and as Dweedle Dee in the children's play, Alice in Wonder. I participated in the Mesa Temple's Easter Pageant for 5 years from 1985 through 1989, the fiftieth anniversary of the pageant. I have a best friend who shares my birthday, and we met in sixth grade, are exactly the same age, and are both left-handed.

Why I am a Mormon

I joined the Mormon church when I was 9 years old, and living in a Mormon foster home. I remember sitting on the floor, listening to the missionaries tell the story of Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon, and the Plan of Happiness. I'm sure I did not understand fully at that time the doctine of the Church, but I do remember feeling that what I was hearing was familiar and true. I felt like I was where I belonged. I have continued to study, and pray since that time, and have come to understand and comprehend the full meaning of the Gospel. I served a full-time mission in Northern Italy, which is where my father's parents were born. My grandparents came from Italy to the United States in the 19th century. I have a strong and firm testimony of the Atonement of Jesus Christ, that He died for my sins, and through His atonement, and the principle of Repentance, I can be resurrected and live forever with my family in the Celestial Kingdom.

How I live my faith

I work in a school cafeteria, and am the only member of the church in the kitchen. I am currently serving in the Women's organization as part of the Monthly meeting committee. We help plan the monthly Tuesday night meetings. I have previously been a teacher, teaching the 3 to 4 year olds, and have also taught Adult Sunday School. I have been the Chorister in our general meeting on Sundays, and love to sing in the choir.