What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Jordan

I have an MPA degree. I ran my first marathon in May. I am the mother of 3 small girls. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am a stay-at-home mom to three little girls, ages 5, 3 and 1. I graduated with a bachelors degree in Political Science and went on to get a Master of Public Administration degree. I worked in a policy research center until I had my first daughter. I love to be at home with my children more than I ever imagined I would. I enjoy reading, running, playing the piano, baking, sewing, gardening, budgeting, and current events. I like to take my children to different events, parks, and museums and enjoy the opportunities of living in a large city with children. I tag team with my husband to ensure that we each have time to pursue our own interests. I trained for a marathon that I completed in May and I enjoy taking tennis lessons. I also lived as a missionary in Venezuela and love to find opportunities to speak Spanish. I love to help people and find great joy in service. I have opportunities to serve in church, with friends and family, at my daughter's school, in my neighborhood, and in the community and find great happiness through them.

Why I am a Mormon

I am a Mormon because I know that this is the true church of Jesus Christ, restored to the earth and guided by living prophets. I have had this knowledge confirmed to me on numerous occasions through the feelings and promptings of the Holy Ghost. I am a member of the church because I know it is the place God wants me to be. I know that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ live. They are real. They are interested in me. Through their church I can come to fully know about their plan for me and I can gain the power to live it.

How I live my faith

I love being an active member of my church. I served as the president of the children's organization for 4 years by teaching classes each Sunday, preparing activities each quarter, visiting sick or absent children, and ministering to the needs of the teachers and children in our group. I am currently serving with the youth in our ward as a Sunday gospel instructor. Each Sunday I teach the young women ages 14-18 about different gospel principles that are foundational for finding happiness in this life and understanding our Heavenly Father's plan for us. I am also assigned to visit four women each month and deliver a gospel message to them and be there to help them with any problems or needs. I love to make these visits and have developed wonderful relationships with these women as we have talked together each month. I live my faith at home by praying each day, reading the scriptures, serving my family members, neighbors and friends, and trying to live a Christ-like life. I am not perfect, and I definitely have things to learn, but I can honestly say that trying to live the gospel each day brings me the most joy and satisfaction of anything I've ever done in my life.