What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Sandi

I'm a Mormon. I am the mother of six children and the grandmother of twenty one grandchildren.

About Me

My name is Sandi. I have a BS degree in Elementary Education from BYU. My husband and I have raised six children, three boys and three girls. All but one have college degrees. They all are married and raising families. We have twenty one grandchildren. It is so rewarding to be a grandmother and to watch our children grow into their roles as parents and happily married spouses. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a sister-in-law, a neighbor, a friend and I am a Mormon.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born into a Mormon family. I was taught the Mormon faith from my youth. My conversion to the Mormon faith became complete when as a teenager I prayed to know for myself if the things I had been taught were true. I felt a peace that what I had been taught were the teachings of Jesus and that I was on the right track. I still feel peace and happiness as I live the principles that I was taught in my youth.

How I live my faith

I begin and end each day with prayer. I say blessings upon each meal and I pray any time during the day when I am happy and feeling blessed or when I am stressed and feeling anxious and worried. I read the scriptures and other religious material every morning. I attend church services every Sunday. Over the course of my life I have been involved in various community projects. I taught in the Laubach Literacy program, volunteered in the schools, and served as a home visitor to new moms. I have knitted bandages for Leprosy victims, participated in various clean up and beautification projects in my community and done other activities as time would permit. My husband and I make the hour drive to my mother's house on a regular basis to help her with errands and chores. Mother is eighty nine years old and lives on her own. Church membership gives me many opportunities to service others. I have taught various age groups from nursery to teenagers to adult classes. I have helped with many programs and dinners. For six years my husband and I served in the temple once a week. For two years my husband and I served as dirctors of a Family History Center. Most recently we served in the mission office of the Singapore Mission for nineteen months. Both experiences were wonderful. I currently play the piano for the children's services on Sunday and visit several women in the congregation on a monthly basis to help them if they need me and to be a friend.