What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Lucky,

I'm an Arizona native, I have a daughter with Down Syndrome, and I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am an accountant by trade and a stay at home mom by choice. I have 4 children – a daughter with Down Syndrome, 3 sons, (one of whom is on a mission for our church in the Philippines) and a husband who is very supportive and loves us very much. My family is the joy of my life and my most important priority. I have volunteered extensively in my children’s schools in the past and have enjoyed working in the Boy Scouts of America for the past 11 years. I enjoy gardening, camping, working on the computer, keeping up with news, and reading. We have 3 cats and 4 chickens and I enjoy animals and nature.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born and raised in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS Church), starting with my great grandparents. I love the peace the gospel of Jesus Christ gives to me each day of my life, in good times and especially in times of trial. I look to Christ as my Lord and Savior and depend on him each day as my friend and my advocate with the Father. I love the teachings as taught by our missionaries, that families can be together after this life … forever, and that I will always have them with me. I know that as I make mistakes that I can be forgiven, improve myself, and become the person I want to be some day.

How I live my faith

My faith is not just a Sunday thing. It reaches each part of my life every day. I try to live as the Savior would have me live and try to follow his example, including loving and serving my family, my friends, my neighbors and my community. I try to make the world a better place around me. I feel that we should bloom where we are planted and leave the world a better place than we found it. I’m grateful for a faith that helps me to be the best that I can be by its teachings and by the opportunities it gives each person to serve as part of its lay ministry (no paid clergy.) Currently, I work with the 12-18 year old young women on Sundays for teaching and Wednesday nights for activities, and I love it and them. I have served in many other capacities in the past and look forward to continued service throughout my life.