What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Scott

I'm a Mormon. I grew up in northern California and currently live in Gilbert, Arizona.

About Me

After 20 years in northern California, I made a trip to visit a friend in Arizona. I was fortunate enough to meet my wife on this trip and shortly thereafter I moved to Arizona and was married. My wife and I now have 3 beautiful, rowdy kids. I attended a University in Arizona and earned my bachelors degree in accounting. A short time later I took 4 brutal tests and earned a CPA. I currently work in a public accounting firm. I love spending time with my family and have always enjoyed sports. I played basketball growing up, but have achieved old man status and now enjoy watching sports. Whether it's a good basketball game on tv or going to the soccer field to see my kids play, I'm an avid sports fan.

Why I am a Mormon

I was born in the LDS church and my parents were devout in attending church meetings on Sunday and trying to teach us kids how to live right. I was one of those kids who went begrudgingly with my family to church meetings and activities. My commitment to the gospel of Jesus Christ was not strong. I didn't really even know if there really was a God. It took me years to figure out that I needed to know if there was a God and gain an understanding and belief in the LDS faith for myself. One thing I had never done was read the Book of Mormon. I finally took that opportunity later in my life. As I read the Book of Mormon the Spirit of God let me know that it was true and that the man that brought forth the Book of Mormon, Joesph Smith was lead by God. I prayed to know if God was real and felt the Spirit letting me know that he was and that Jesus Christ was also real. After I gained this understanding through His Spirit, I knew that being a Mormon was the right thing.

How I live my faith

I am part of a committee that is over a group of men over the age 18. As part of this committe, I help organize weekly meetings held on Sunday. As part of this group, we try to take care of one another's spiritual and physical needs. As part of the committee, we organize a program called home teaching. This program is intended to assign two men to visit the homes of two to three other families of the men in the group. It is a wonderful opportunity to get to know each other and gives the men who are assigned to visit the families opportunities to help where help is needed.