What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Donna

I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am a mother of five children. Three of those children we adopted and they have some special needs. I love to learn new things. I especially enjoy learning about other cultures and religions. I recently went back to school to get a degree. I will graduate next year. I have tried out many different hobbies over the years including sewing, knitting, crocheting, cross-stitching, cooking, baking, cake decorating, gardening (both flowers and vegetables), canning, painting, and sketching. Right now I am training for a tri-athalon so that I can get in better physical shape. I love watching Bollywood movies and I am trying to learn to speak Hindi. I would love to go to India someday. I like all kinds of music including rap, hip hop, classical, heavy metal, and bhangara.

Why I am a Mormon

When I was eleven, my older sister invited these young men to the house. They were missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I thought they were cute, but I wasn't interested in listening to their message. I had always talked to God since I was very young. Every night I would have long conversations with him and I knew he heard everything I said. Sometimes I told him I was sorry that I talked so much. My sister eventually got baptized and became a "Mormon". One Sunday she invited me to go with her to church and I went. When I walked in the door I felt completely peaceful. I felt the same way that I did every night when I talked to God. I knew then that I wanted to go to church every Sunday. My parents said I was too young to make that decision so I waited. When I was fifteen, my parents let me get baptized.

How I live my faith

I live my faith by trying to be the best person that I can be. I study about Jesus Christ and then try in small ways to be a little like Him. It is going to be a life-long process, but hopefully towards the end of my life it will show. Mostly I am busy with my family doing the day to day things that need to be done like homework, packing lunches, laundry,etc. and trying to remember to make each day a little better for myself, my family, and people that I am with each day. Right now I teach children that are 4 and 5 years old. They are so honest, fun and sweet. I am enjoying being their teacher.