What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Emily

I grew up in Pennsylvania. I teach piano lessons and a children's choir. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am the oldest of 5 children and grew up in Pennsylvania. I graduated from Brigham Young University with a bachelor's degree in Elementary Music Education. I love just about anything that has to do with music. I like to play the piano, sing in ensembles or as a solist and I also enjoy playing the flute. I also enjoy reading and like arts and crafts, such as sewing and calligraphy. I've been married for 10 years and I'm a proud mom of an adorable two-year-old boy. As a family, we like to spend time outdoors, shopping, or having friends over for a barbeque. When we get a chance to go on a date, my husband and I usually like to go out to dinner and catch a movie. While my husband is at work, I stay at home with my son, but I have a few piano students and have started a children's choir this year. We have a great time making music together!

Why I am a Mormon

I was raised in this Church, so you might say it's a family tradition, because it is. But it's more than just that for me. I love this Church and the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I've read the Book of Mormon several times and feel its power in my life. I've prayed to find out if it is true and have received a witness from the Holy Spirit that it really is the word of God, just like the Bible. I've received many other answers to my prayers, and through those answers, I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and Redeemer. I know that there is a God and that He loves me and is mindful of my purpose in life here on earth. Growing up as a member of the Mormon Church, I've come to realize that the members of this Church are wonderful people. They have given me so much support and love through the years, ever since I was a little girl. Their kindness and care comes from their desire to follow Jesus Christ and to keep His commandments.

How I live my faith

I am currently serving our congregation by helping out with the children - called the Primary - ages 18months through 12 years. We have a group of about 120 children, so I am doing the best I can! I have the opportunity to teach them on Sundays, and to make sure they have Sunday School teachers to teach their classes as well. I also help to organize events and activities - mostly for the children, but occasionally for the whole congregation. Right now we are preparing for our "Primary Program." One Sunday a year, the children have the opportunity to present what they have learned about in Church from the whole year. We are looking forward to this presentation and hope it goes well! I am also assigned ladies from our congregation to visit on a monthly basis. We mingle together and have a lovely time! We also discuss specific Gospel topics which really helps to unify us and strenghthens our faith. At home, I live my faith by reading the scriptures daily and pray several times a day either in my family or personally. Our family time is precious to us, so we try to spend our time together whenever my husband is home from work. Once a week we set aside a special time to worship, learn about the Gospel and then organize a fun activity. I try to make the right choices each day to please my Father in Heaven.