What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Miriam

I'm a foodie, a vegan and a mom. And, I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I love to cook. It is one of my all-time favorite past times. For health reasons, my family decided to go vegan a few years ago so now I'm discovering cooking all over again-- with a new set of rules. My children are all young enough that new foods are "yukky" so I'm also learning how to make things toddler-friendly. My family and I love to tell stories, from our own experience or family history, as well as fanciful made-up stories on the spur of the moment. Not a day goes by where I don't tell at least half a dozen stories. Family is important to me, so I love it when my young children know and can tell all about their extended family, as well as the grandparents and great-grandparents they didn't have a chance to meet.

Why I am a Mormon

I grew up in Northern California in an area where it was not popular to be moral, or religious. I was one of very few LDS teens in my area and really had to stand up for what I believed. Questions and challenges from my peers forced me to research, and then pray about my beliefs. The Lord answered my prayers with a testimony of his gospel and his church. As I have lived the gospel of Jesus Christ my testimony has continued to grow. I know from personal experience that obedience to the commandments always brings peace. It doesn't mean my life has been perfect, but I know I have been helped through rough times because of my faith in Christ.

How I live my faith

I love my husband and my children. I try to teach them to do what is right, and show them by example. I often make mistakes, but try to apologize, repent and do better next time. There are outside responsibilities that I have in the church: I have one of the best jobs in the entire congregation. I teach the gospel of Christ through music to the primary children (ages 3-12), and nursery children (ages 18 mo - 3 yrs) on Sunday. Also, because I am bilingual, I am regularly asked to visit Spanish speaking women and their families in our congregation. My husband and I both really enjoy meeting new people and making new friends. And, because we both love to cook, hosting dinner parties is one of our favorite ways to get to know people.