What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Alisa

I am a lifelong member of the church, musician, photographer, crafter, and a stay-at-home mom of three. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am 30 years old, raised a Mormon and currently a wife and mother of three beautiful daughters, ages 6, 4 and 2. My husband is starting his career as an attorney and I am a stay-at-home mom. I am also a photographer and flute teacher on the side and love reading. I majored in music at BYU in flute and also play the piano. I love meeting new people and socializing. Some day I'd like to write a book.

Why I am a Mormon

Living the way the gospel teaches has brought me such great joy. All growing up I was taught right and wrong choices and was fortunate to have wonderful teachers, leaders, and parents. Because of my testimony of the truthfulness of the gospel, I have avoided so much misery that is ever present in the world around us. I know that the gospel has been restored to the earth again and that Joseph Smith was the true prophet called of God to perform that work. I know the Book of Mormon is a true book and that it was truly written for our day by ancient people who lived on the American continent. I know that families can be together through sacred ordinances available in holy temples. I know of a surety that God and Jesus Christ are real and that they love me as if I was the only person they had to pay attention to. I know that the atonement really happened and that it is personal to me. I have felt the love of God in my life and I have had many spiritual experiences that have confirmed to me that it is all real.

How I live my faith

I live my faith by attending my church meetings and the temple, paying 10% of my income to the Lord, serving my family, teaching my children, and serving in my local congregation. Currently I am the ward choir director. I also support my husband in his duties, which right now include following up with member visits as well as being a financial clerk. I am also assigned two to three women to visit every month to make sure they are doing well and to be their friend. I also have two women who visit me and I do my best to be available to them so they can fulfill their duties.