What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Katherine

I grew up in the southwest and now live in Minnesota. I'm a professional ballet dancer, teacher and mom. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I grew up as the only girl in a family with four boys that loved sports but I ended up being a dancer. I got married after graduating from Brigham Young University and I now have a beautiful little girl that takes up most of my time. I love hanging out with my family and friends more than anything. I also love to read, sew, play badminton, attempt to play basketball and volleyball (which is hard since I am very short), and most of all dance. I teach ballet and dance part-time with a professional ballet company.

Why I am a Mormon

I grew up with mormon parents that showed me by faithful example that they believed in Christ by being honest, kind, and constantly serving and helping other people. When I was in high school I went through all the normal teen insecurities of trying to fit in and make friends after my family moved. I came to a point when trying to just fit in with others was not making me feel very happy and so I made a decision to try harder to please God than my peers. I was always a good girl naturally and never really got into any trouble. But then I really listened to the things I learned in church and tried to be more intentional about being a disciple of Christ. That is when I felt the peace and self-worth that only comes from our loving Heavenly Father. I felt so much happier and was content to be myself and I knew that those feelings could help me get through anything in life. And I knew that those feelings came from the Holy Ghost, whom I received as a companion when I was baptized through the priesthood that was restored to the earth through Joseph Smith.

How I live my faith

I live my faith by going to church every Sunday. I work with the children in our ward age 18 months-11 year olds. I help prepare lessons to teach them basic gospel principles and history. I read scriptures and try to follow the teachings. I try to be a kind, honest, and charitable person and a good friend, wife, and mother.