What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Teri

I live in Colorado. I was a missionary in Venezuela. I was baptized when I was 18 years old. I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I'm a mother of two little girls. I am a stay at home mom. I love food. Making it and eating it. I love making things. I am crafty, not artsy. I love to garden, not weed. I have a degree in interpersonal communication so I love to talk. I love to have things clean but I am horrible at being tidy.

Why I am a Mormon

My senior year in high school I hung out with some guys who were all members of the church. They shared the gospel with me regularly, invited me to seminary and dances and invited me to church and firesides repeatedly. After asking me if I wanted to take the discussions a few times, I finally agreed. I soon went off to college and decided if I was going to make this huge step, I absolutely had to do it for me and for me only. I went off to school and took the discussions with the missionaries for a second time. I was baptized just a few days before I turned 19. When I was 21 I decided to go on a mission so that I could share the things I believed with other people in the same way that I came to know and love the gospel. Then when I was 26, I was married in the temple to an amazing man. I grew up in a Catholic home with parents who were and are very strong in their faith. My parents were the biggest thing that held me back in the beginning. I didn't want to hurt them or cause problems in my relationship with them. To this day, my parents are my biggest supporters of what I do and who I am. This is not to say that we didn't have problems, because we did. Many of them. BUT, we have an amazing relationship now because we are able to respect one another in spite of our differences in faith. Sometimes being a Mormon is hard. Sometimes life feels like it should just be easier. The one thing I can always be sure of though, is that God loves me and that I am where I should be doing what I should be doing.

How I live my faith

Currently in my ward I work in the program with the young women ages 12-17. I help them work on goals and service type projects. I love working with the youth. I think we have a great opportunity to help young people learn to understand the people we CAN be without becoming who they think others WANT them to be.