What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Marcia Shaw de Klerk

I grew up in Carletonville, I lived there up until I completed school in 1980. I am a Mormon.

About Me

I have been a member for 45 years, my parents joined the church when I was 4 years old. I am a mom of 4 children 2 boys and 2 girls. I love to read, sew and occasionally bake. I am currently working for the Genealogical Society of Utah (Family Search International) doing the imaging of the death estates here in Cape Town CBD, Western Cape, South Africa. I love doing family history.

Why I am a Mormon

I love the standards and principles of the church. It has become a way of life for me since I was a little girl. I love to participate in the programs and help others to learn. I gained my own testimony after I only started going to Young Women. I know that the Chruch is true, that Jesus Christ died for us and that All the prophets we have had and will have are called of God. Knowing all of this helps me to continue in faith and I always hope that I will endure to the end. My 2 favourite scriptures are 1. In the Book of Mormon is Helaman 5:12, this verse of scripture really gives me hope and understanding that Jesus Christ is our corner stone and foundation. 2. Doctrine and Covenants 19:23, I have been given the opportunity to Learn about Jesus Christ and to listen to His words.

How I live my faith

I have partcipated in a lot of callings over the years. Primary - President and teacher; Relief Society - President, teacher, music director and secretary; Young women - Stake YW President, Branch YW President; 2010 - Seminary and Institute teacher; 2011 - Institute Teacher. Most of all I am a visiting teacher who loves to go out and visit the sisters, I also try and get the RS President to change the sisters I visit every 6 months or so so that I can get to know all the sisters in the Ward in their home environments.