What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Eileen

I have lived much of my life, in Western Canada and Yukon. I was baptised into the Church in 1957.

About Me

My husband and I are retired and live on the West coast.. We recently moved here from the interior and built our dream home, a log house on a hill with a great view. Between us we have six children. I worked primarily in office management, but the most satisfying times were when I was home with my three children. My family and the Church community were a great support during those years. In my 50s, when all the children were away from home, I moved to the north and spent 9 years enjoying the the atmosphere, the scenery and the comradship of the people. I remarried and my husband is very supportive in my efforts to work in Church callings and attend the temple regularly. Besides genealogy work I enjoy gardening, raising bantam chickens, walking, reading and quilting.

Why I am a Mormon

I joined the Church in my teen years, but spent a few years being inactive before truly becoming converted to the joy of activity. I savour the peace of mind that comes from attending meetings in the Chapel and the Temple and learning more and more about how I can better serve the Saviour and my fellow men. My testimony of the truthfulness of the Gospel sustains me in my daily activities, and helps me to listen for the promptings of the Spirit. I know God lives and loves me, and that his Son, Jesus Christ truly died on the cross for me, and that through His atonement I may repent and move forward in my earthly existence, with a hope for eternal life.

How I live my faith

I am a Sunday School teacher for the 14-18 year old youth, and it is true that teaching is the best way to learn because you have to study to be prepared for the questions brought forward by our youth. I am also a Family History Consultant and assist others with their family tree research, as well as continue to work on my own lines. I also try to work with a local community group such as the Arthritis Society, the SPCA, or a concert society. In this way I meet a wonderful cross section of people in my area.