What Is a Church Community?
Loading.....

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Matt

I'm a farmer, a teacher, and a programmer. And I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I live in Washington state with my wonderful wife and six kids. I have always loved learning and doing new things, both professionally and for fun. Some of my hobbies include falconry, boat building, fishing, hunting, web design, strategy game playing, teaching English as a second language to friends and neighbors, and kid entertaining. My education has been long and varied, changing with my whims. I graduated with a bachelors in Construction Management, went on to get an MA in Education, and have done extensive independent study in Spanish, English, and ESL. For the past few years, I've been up to my elbows in databases and internet development. The greatest blessing in my life is my family. We love life on our farm, living in the home I built with my hands, and spending as much time as we can together, both inside and outside of the house.

Why I am a Mormon

Having grown up as a Mormon, it was easy for me to see as I became an adult that continuing in this religion would help me have a happy life. Now as a husband and father, I recognize that much of the unity and love that our family shares is due to my living by standards taught by the church. As a Mormon, I learn continually how to be a loving and respectful spouse and parent, and how to work with my dear wife to attain our goals. Seeing the kind of person that I have become by being a Mormon, I know the most important thing I can do is continue in the gospel of Jesus Christ.

How I live my faith

I live my faith outside of my home every week through giving service to others, and that is a wonderful part of my life, but I believe the most important aspect of my faith is how I live it within my home. As I try to study the teachings of Jesus, I look for ways to apply those teachings in my interactions with my wife, especially, and also with my children.