What Is a Church Community?

The video player could not be built.

Do you want to chat with a missionary?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Start a chat or call us at 1-888-537-6600.

Hi I'm Emily

I grew up in the Pacific Northwest. I love to run, bike, and create (sew, paint, etc). I'm a Mormon.

About Me

I am the youngest of four siblings and will forever be called the "baby" of the family. I grew up in the Pacific Northwest which instilled in me a great love for the outdoors, pine trees, snow, lakes, and cool weather. I majored in public relations in college and continue to work in the PR field while we raise three wonderful and crazy little boys. Our latest addition came with a head full of hair an an extra chromosome, which means he has down syndrome. He is precious and we are excited for the new journey he will take us on. My husband and I moved across the country after school so we could explore an area that neither of us had lived before. We bought our first home and have loved working on projects and learning all the DIY possibilities. I enjoy anything that involves creating so going from pieces of fabric and a zipper to a finished pillow on my couch makes me very happy. I also love to explore the city with my three little boys and just going to parks and museums with them. Our favorite activity as a family is being in the back yard whether it's working on our garden, building forts, grilling, or gathering leaves for our "collection" as my four year old would say.

Why I am a Mormon

While I was raised Mormon I can distinctly remember a time in my life when I made the decision to BE Mormon. I was in middle school and was feeling a lot of pressure from friends to not follow the teachings of the church. The decision to live the principles I had been taught was the first step to gaining a testimony, by practicing our religion and living in a way that brings us closer to God I was able to strengthen my testimony and know without any doubts that this is the Lord's church.

How I live my faith

I am currently working with the youth from our church, specifically the 14 and 15 year olds, teaching Sunday School. This is the first time I've had this responsibility and I absolutely love it. High school is a really challenging time and it's been great to talk to the kids and get their take on life. I love telling them stories from when I was their age and making similar tough decisions. Before this responsibility I was in charge of organizing activities for the women in our church. My last activity was a service project where we provided coats and shoes to children at a school in our community. These were children that did not have much and some were homeless. This was the third year in a row that we did this project and everyone enjoyed being part of such a sweet need. I also serve as a visiting teacher and have four women that I reach out to regularly to visit and make sure they're doing okay.